, pub-9379944571514636, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0 Gin Blossoms No Chocolate Cake Album Review 8.5/10
Danny Hauger Podcasts

Gin Blossoms No Chocolate Cake Album Review 8.5/10

October 1, 2010

Anticipation was rewarded this week with the new album from the Gin Blossoms, No Chocolate Cake.  This excellent revival of Alternative Rock brings all the reflection and emotions we've come to expect from the bank that has stayed most consistent to its original and identifiable sound.  No Chocolate Cake endorses the tracing guitar lines of Jesse Valenzuela and Scott Johnson that separate and unite simultaneously with the tender harmonies of the two vocalists that have inspired decades of brilliant tunes.  With suck subtle genius of "Something Real", and all of the pop jangle bite of the single, "Miss Disarray", the Gin Blossoms release an album which does what few bands can today, make you feel.  The phrasing and instrumental works of many of the ballads bring back feelings of the 90's and inner thought that allow good feelings to come from difficult situations.  Danny Hauger score: 8.5/10.

Few bands that enjoyed success during the post-grunge alternative clustered 1990's decade have been able to continue creating great music and touring as successfully as the melodic and transcendent Gin Blossoms of Tempe, Arizona. Their previous release, Major Lodge Victory, while greatly under appreciated by the mass media and radio play list automation, carried a similar energy and originality that could be appreciated from start to finish reminiscent of master works New Miserable Experience and Congratulations I'm Sorry. Now returning with No Chocolate Cake, the Gin Blossoms continue to offer fans and critics more of their excellent harmonies, wide vocal range, and tracing guitar lines to accent the upbeat rhythm and California - Arizona sound brand that represents a continuity of musical excellence that has remained true to its core since their earliest offerings that redefined the alternative rock genres.

No Chocolate Cake is the 5th studio album for the group No Chocolate Cake

Track listing:

  1. "Don't Change for Me"
  2. "I Don't Want to Lose You Now"
  3. "Miss Disarray"
  4. "Wave Bye Bye"
  5. "I'm Ready"
  6. "Somewhere Tonight"
  7. "Go Crybaby"
  8. "If You'll Be Mine"
  9. "Dead or Alive on the 405"
  10. "Something Real"
  11. "Goin' to California"

The Gin Blossoms recently announced the release of their new studio album, "No Chocolate Cake," in stores September 28, 2010

Click below to enjoy my interview in 2009 with outstanding guitarist Scotty Johnson.

Podcast managed by Danny Hauger Media Production

Concert Update Southern California: Don't miss the Gin Blossoms on Friday, August 6th, at The Canyon Club in Agoura Hills!

Don’t forget to visit,

and Subscribe to this podcast!

Play this podcast on Podbean App